Sunday Oct 17, 2021
Sunday Oct 17, 2021

Chief Minister Bhatta of Sudurpaschim Province wins vote of confidence

2021 Jun 08, 12:55, Kathmandu
Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatta of Sudurpaschim Province speaking at an unnamed convention. Photo: RSS

Chief Minister of Sudurpaschim Province Trilochan Bhatta has won the vote of confidence at the National Assembly. He won the vote of confidence after lawmakers from the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led faction of CPN UML voted in his favour.

Bhatta received 30 votes while his opponent could garner only nine votes. Bhatta’s opponent received votes from lawmakers of Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli-led faction of CPN UML and Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal. Meanwhile, lawmakers from Nepali Congress abstained from the voting process. The Nepali Congress has 12 lawmakers.

A total of 51 members were present in the National Assembly. The Sudurpaschim assembly has a total of 52 seats. To in the vote of confidence Chief Minister Bhatta needed 27 votes in his favour. 

Additional News

Editor's Choice

Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754


Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal